The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well

The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well (Penguin Life) by [Wiking, Meik]

‘Hygge has been translated as everything from the art of creating intimacy to cosiness of the soul to taking pleasure from the presence of soothing things. My personal favourite is cocoa by candlelight…’

You know hygge when you feel it. It is when you are cuddled up on a sofa with a loved one, or sharing comfort food with your closest friends. It is those crisp blue mornings when the light through your window is just right.

Who better than Meik Wiking to be your guide to all things hygge? Meik is CEO of the Happiness Research Institute in Copenhagen and has spent years studying the magic of Danish life. In this beautiful, inspiring book he will help you be more hygge: from picking the right lighting and planning a dinner party through to creating an emergency hygge kit and even how to dress.

 

This “little book” is a hell of a lot bigger than I thought it would be. Right from the get-go I was totally into it, too. It was much more detailed than I thought it would be and I have to admit, I loved it more than I thought I would.

I’ve been on a “hygge” kick for a little while now and I’m loving all the books that I’ve been seeing that are coming out around this theme. They always end out being fun reads and this one is probably one of the funest I’ve read in a while (I’ll get reviews for the rest up soon!). As I already mentioned, the book is a lot more detailed than I thought it would be and it left me with so many ideas that I can’t wait to put into action. With the weather warming up and spring cleaning around the corner (or in my case, already started) it was the perfect read for some inspiration. Not too overloaded enough that I was able to finish it quickly, while still learning lots!

Leave a Reply

